This award is presented annually to a person or group that has supported the library. 

The award honors service through exceptional leadership, financial support, volunteerism, research, or other contributions.


Award Recipients:

1998  Barbara Gerriets for book sorting and book sale coordination

1999  Bob and Lois Hodge for local history and genealogy work and donations

2000  Betty Boylan for financial donations

2001  Ellie Hazelrigg for volunteer work for Homebound Program, trustee, role, donations, etc.

2002  Betty Tholen for helping start the Friends group in the 1970s

2003  Nadine Terry & Earl Williams for Rites of Passage youth program

2004  Flint Hills Genealogical Society for financial gifts and volunteer work

2005  Mary Unruh for book sorting supervision

2006  Book Sorters for untiring sorting and pricing.  Nine people were presented awards: Gae Barnes, Judy Dodson, Edna Glaser, Barbara Holscher, Sharon Ikerd, Virginia Loper, Nancy McKinzie, Joan Mouse, and Cindy Pastor

2007  Ann Coulson & Nancy Hargett for volunteering service and energy to Friends of the Library

2008  George Osborn & Langley Charitable Trust for financial gifts and support

2009  Carmaine Ternes for work to improve teen services

2010  Jan Laurent for leadership, financial support, and more

2011  Greg Larson for volunteer work on Internet book sales

2012  Sigma Tau Gamma fraternity for financial gifts and help moving books for sales

2013  Ed Rathke for ongoing help with building/grounds and support

2014  Deb Burns-Heinitz & Mar Jean Anderson for yard signs, delivering books, incredible volunteering, etc.

2015  Jeanne Cranz for unending help with book sales and Friends needs

2016  Dee Schwinn for continuous energy and volunteerism for Friends initiatives


Recipients receive a plaque, a Life membership in the Friends of the Library, and a book placed in their honor in the library’s collection.

Go to top